Library Instruction

The library offers instruction in finding, using, and evaluating information to UMass Dartmouth students at all levels, from first year courses to advanced graduate seminars. Our instruction librarians are eager to work with faculty members to design class sessions geared to specific courses and specific assignments. 

 

INSTRUCTION AND STUDENT APPOINTMENTS

Faculty members should consult the following list of librarians to discuss scheduling a library instruction session for courses in their area. 

Rachel Baum (x8886, email rachel.baum) Anthropology/Sociology, Crime & Justice Studies, Policy Studies, Political Science

Lorraine Heffernan (x8670; email lheffernan) Business, Economics

Hilary Kraus (x 8681; email hkraus) Medical Laboratory Science; Nursing, Psychology.

Olivia Piepmeier (x8526; email olivia.piepmeier) Visual Arts, Music, Philosophy, English Literature & Criticism

Kari Mofford (x8865; email kmofford) Writing & Communication

Sonia Pacheco (x8695; email spacheco) Portuguese Studies, History, Foreign Languages

Susan Raidy-Klein (x8666, email sraidyklein) STEM, Women's Studies, LAR

 

For departments not listed above, please contact Lorraine Heffernan (x8670; email LHeffernan), Division Head for Information Services.

 

FACULTY RESEARCH ASSISTANCE 

Faculty and staff are invited to contact the appropriate liaison for assistance with their research needs. Librarian liaisons are available to help with general literature searches, finding specific data, using library technology, and much more. 

Rachel Baum (x8886, email rachel.baum) Anthropology/Sociology, Crime & Justice Studies, Policy Studies, Political Science

Lorraine Heffernan (x8670; email lheffernan) Business, Economics

Hilary Kraus (x 8681; email hkraus) Medical Laboratory Science; Nursing, Psychology

Kari Mofford (x8865; email kmofford) Writing & Communication

Olivia Piepmeier (x8526; email olivia.piepmeier) English, Visual Arts, Music, History, Philosophy

Sonia Pacheco (x8695; email spacheco) Portuguese Studies, History, Foreign Languages

Susan Raidy-Klein (x8666, email sraidyklein) STEM, Women's Studies, LAR

 

For departments not listed above, please contact Lorraine Heffernan (x8670; email LHeffernan), Division Head for Information Services.

 

INSTRUCTION FOR OUTSIDE GROUPS

Teachers from local elementary and secondary schools and community colleges who wish to arrange visits to the university library should contact Lorraine Heffernan (x8670; email LHeffernan), at least two weeks before the date they prefer.   Instruction for outside groups may be unavailable during the busiest periods of the university's academic year.